469-535-7200 Schedule Now
4333 N. Josey Lane, Plaza II, Ste. 302 Carrollton, TX 75010

Serving the community since 1987

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Carrollton, TX Family Medicine Doctor Dr. Jeff R. Hischke

At Family Medicine Associates of Texas in Carrollton, our board-certified medical physicians are proud to offer quality health care and service to their local community. Finding the right doctor to suit your medical needs can be overwhelming and exhausting. We understand that finding a qualified and compassionate doctor is at the top of your priority list. When building our practice, we selected highly-skilled medical physicians that have exceptional bedside manner. Many of our patients enjoy sharing their positive feedback they've had while visiting our practice. We wanted to share these patient reviews with you in hopes it will help narrow down your search for a physician and provide helpful information about our practice. We invite you to read through our patient's testimonials to learn more about our doctors, practice, and services. 

Filter52 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 27, 2019

Dr Hischke has a great bedside manner, and clearly let's you know what's going on without talking down to you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 26, 2020

He is an awesome doctor! Very knowledgeable and personable! I also, love the nurses and staff here, too. Just went in last week and they went above and beyond. I really appreciate them. I would definitely recommend Dr Hischke. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 07, 2020

My wife and I moved to this practice, as patients of Dr. Jeffrey Stewart, back in 2016.  I was sick and my internist’s staff in Dallas told me to go to a ’doc-in-the-box’ or wait 3 days.  Couldn’t do that, and it happened twice in a period of 2 months during flu season, so we decided to change doctors.  Looking through our plan, we found this practice not far from us.We also found that Family Medicine Associates could see me that day and I was assigned to Dr. Stewart.  Later we discovered they have Saturday office hours and at various times both my wife and I have been there on a Saturday if we were ill and didn’t want to go to the urgent care center or wait until Monday.A couple years ago Dr. Stewart began treating my wife’s high blood sugar and at a certain point her case became more complex so he referred us to an endocrinologist.   This was a life-changing moment that probably saved my wife’s life.  I’ve just been referred to a urologist for an issue that requires a higher level of specialty, the outcome of which is uncertain at this point.What you should take away from this is that it is comforting to have a physician who knows when it’s time to call in a specialist.  Doctors don’t know everything about everything, if they are the right kind of person to know their own limitations and we respect this in Dr. Stewart.  He has not steered us wrong yet and we have no reason to expect he would.I’d rather go to him knowing that if he feels we should dig deeper he will send us out to a professional colleague whom he knows for a higher level of care if it’s needed.  It’s about what each type of physician is trained for.And for physicals, I have my annual physical every year, in 2 parts, with Dr. Stewart.  This is not this medical practice’s policy, it’s standard procedure for a complete physical.  Get your blood and urine work done first, and return a 2nd time to review the results and develop a plan of action.  We are fortunate to have very good health care coverage and it covers the 2-part physical 100%.  A lot of this depends on your coverage, so know your policy’s parameters before you go somewhere and think you are being taken advantage of.We’ve never had issue with the office staff, either, nor any billing issues.  Don’t rely on others to know your coverage.  Learn what is covered and for how much and pay attention, ask questions, and always review your EOBs.  Especially in this tough time, this practice is well-organized to handle your needs in person or remotely and they seem to be a group of caring professionals who have just one interest - your well-being. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 12, 2020

Great facility, eleven years in a row for me. Most of the original staff is still here all these years. Taking great care during Covid to screen patients. Easy to use telemedicine platform, same great care. Shout outs to Braden, Hischke, Stewart and the many nurses who make it all happen. More

5.0
Review from EL  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 06, 2020

Dr. Hischke is Great!!! More

5.0
Review from TT  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jan 07, 2020

I saw Dr. Hischke today and don't think that I'll ever want to see a different doctor. More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 17, 2019

Y'all are great! I have never in 20 years waited more than 15 minutes for my appointment. Dr. Jeffrey Stewart is the best! More

5.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 17, 2019

The lady who checked me in was very sweet. My husband and I absolutely love Dr. Hischke and his staff. He is the best and Vera is a sweetheart. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 21, 2019

I have been going to Dr. Hischke for more than 10 years. I find him to be knowledgeable, warm, sincere and never in a rush to get you through your appointment. He'll also work with you on ways to find less expensive medication options. More

5.0
Review from KS  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Sep 06, 2019

Dr. Hischke is very thoughtful - takes his time to discuss things. More

5.0
Review from KS  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 19, 2019

Dr. Hischke is very thorough and takes his time to discuss things. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 17, 2019

Great first time experience. Atmosphere is very positive and efficient. Felt like the staff and Dr Hischke were glad I was there and genuinely wanted to find out how they could help. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 12, 2019

Dr. Hischke is a superb doctor. He is a very effective listener and pays attention to what I am saying about my particular issues and provides meaningful feedback and recommendations. He always follows up with an opportunity to discuss any other issues at the end of the session as well. More

4.9
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 27, 2019

Great visit and practice! More

5.0
Review from PS  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Feb 18, 2019

Everyone is always very pleasant & attentive. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 05, 2019

I have been a patient of theirs for over 20 years.  Started with Honaker and now see Hischke.  Very easy to get appointments and they take the time to listen and assess what is wrong.  Great practice. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 25, 2019

Very good group of doctors and practitioners. Been with them for more than 30 years. I especially appreciate Dr. Hischke.. More

4.9
Review from HM  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 13, 2018

I often refer my friends to Dr. Hischke. He is fantastic. More

5.0
Review from SL  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 21, 2018

Dr. Hischke is an excellent doctor and he has an excellent nurse, too. More

4.8
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Nov 21, 2018

The staff is always courteous & helpful. Doctors take time to talk through everything. This is very much appreciated. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 07, 2018

I have been going to Family Medicine for 30 years. My experience with each of my Dr's has been outstanding. Dr. Hischke is my latest physician and I have absolutely no complaints since I have started seeing him. I originally saw Dr. Honaker for years and years, until he retired. Dr. Hischke has continued the excellent treatment and diagnosis'. I was at first unsure of what things would be like after Dr. H. retired, what I have learned is that I can trust Dr. Hischke and his staff to do what is best for me, and my entire family. More

5.0
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Aug 09, 2018

Dr. Hischke...he's the best!! I've been seeing Dr. Hischke for 18 years. I'd never go anywhere else. More

4.7
Review from K.G.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  May 16, 2018

Dr. Hischke is very helpful and understanding. More

4.4
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  May 15, 2018

I've come here for over half my life and won't change any time soon. More

5.0
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Mar 05, 2018

Dr. Hischke is awesome. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 02, 2018

I have just returned from my 30th (yes 30th) consecutive annual physical exam with FMA, with perhaps another 30 pop-up visits interspersed over the three decades. I've read each review here on Yelp, and while I would certainly never question anyone's perception of their own experience, I can honestly say that I am personally a perfect 60-for-60 in receiving exceptionally personal, professional and deeply concerned care at FMA.  I started 30 years ago with the noted patriarch of FMA, Dr. Richard Honaker, whom has recently retired from his decades of "Keeping me going."  However, the key to FMA is the quality of ALL of the physicians on the team, whom are interchangeable from a professionalism standpoint, and thus one is nearly always available to see you on short notice.  And if the Physicians are all booked, their staff of Physician Assistants (PA's) are both phenomenal and available.  I routinely request my own PA (the simply unparalleled Marla Lehmann) at a frequency ratio of 4 to 1 over my also gifted (albeit quite busy) primary physician, Dr. Jeff Hischke (whom Dr. Honaker personally matched with me upon his retirement.)  And I feel quite compelled to address the complaints (and misunderstanding of) the "Two-Part" physical exam process.  This system is infinitely more informative and useful than the typical "One-stop-shop," wherein your blood is drawn at the same time as your poke-and-prod...however, given the week it takes to garner the lab results, you receive no detailed review or discussion of exactly where you stand with regard to the dozens of critical health measurements and parameters within the report, and how they relate to each other, and to you personally.  The one-stop-Doc will simply tell you: "If you don't hear from us, your good to go." However each measurement is a placement within lower and upper limits, and wouldn't you like to know how close to the edge of each limit you are? And what if your numbers in vital measurements are trending steeply toward a limit year-to-year (such as safely-low to very high) but have not yet exceeded that upper limit, and thus are not brought to your attention. The analysis of each these numbers, and your personal trend (which is a core element of the FMA second visit) is the most critical part of the entire exam, which is totally ignored by the "We'll call you if it's bad" approach. Furthermore, the examination of each number individually points to specific dietary, vitamin, or lifestyle changes necessary to remedy that particular issue.  For instance, if you are an aging male, is it enough to simply know that your PSA (Prostate) numbers are "Within limits?"  I personally prefer to know that they are "Way" within limits, and not just barely below the line, and going to blow well into the Red a year from that visit.  And as far as complaints regarding billing issues, I am not qualified to comment, as I've not experienced such an issue in 30 years. In summary, this practice is "Family" to me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 02, 2018

I have just returned from my 30th (yes 30th) consecutive annual physical exam with FMA, with perhaps another 30 pop-up visits interspersed over the three decades. I’ve read each review here on Yelp, and while I would certainly never question anyone’s perception of their own experience, I can honestly say that I am personally a perfect 60-for-60 in receiving exceptionally personal, professional and deeply concerned care at FMA.  I started 30 years ago with the noted patriarch of FMA, Dr. Richard Honaker, whom has recently retired from his decades of "Keeping me going."  However, the key to FMA is the quality of ALL of the physicians on the team, whom are interchangeable from a professionalism standpoint, and thus one is nearly always available to see you on short notice.  And if the Physicians are all booked, their staff of Physician Assistants (PA’s) are both phenomenal and available.  I routinely request my own PA (the simply unparalleled Marla Lehmann) at a frequency ratio of 4 to 1 over my also gifted (albeit quite busy) primary physician, Dr. Jeff Hischke (whom Dr. Honaker personally matched with me upon his retirement.)  And I feel quite compelled to address the complaints (and misunderstanding of) the "Two-Part" physical exam process.  This system is infinitely more informative and useful than the typical "One-stop-shop," wherein your blood is drawn at the same time as your poke-and-prod...however, given the week it takes to garner the lab results, you receive no detailed review or discussion of exactly where you stand with regard to the dozens of critical health measurements and parameters within the report, and how they relate to each other, and to you personally.  The one-stop-Doc will simply tell you: "If you don’t hear from us, your good to go." However each measurement is a placement within lower and upper limits, and wouldn’t you like to know how close to the edge of each limit you are? And what if your numbers in vital measurements are trending steeply toward a limit year-to-year (such as safely-low to very high) but have not yet exceeded that upper limit, and thus are not brought to your attention. The analysis of each these numbers, and your personal trend (which is a core element of the FMA second visit) is the most critical part of the entire exam, which is totally ignored by the "We’ll call you if it’s bad" approach. Furthermore, the examination of each number individually points to specific dietary, vitamin, or lifestyle changes necessary to remedy that particular issue.  For instance, if you are an aging male, is it enough to simply know that your PSA (Prostate) numbers are "Within limits?"  I personally prefer to know that they are "Way" within limits, and not just barely below the line, and going to blow well into the Red a year from that visit.  And as far as complaints regarding billing issues, I am not qualified to comment, as I’ve not experienced such an issue in 30 years. In summary, this practice is "Family" to me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 29, 2018

I've seen Dr. Jeffrey Stewart for almost 20 years. Dr Stewart is top notch in every way. He listens , has always been up to date on the latest drugs and procedures and has given me sound advice on multiple occasion. My entire family sees him. I like and trust him. He tells it like it is and is sensitive to wants and needs of his patience. I highly recommend Dr Stewart for your entire family More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 18, 2018

My family have been Dr. Hischke's patiences for over 18 years now with not complains through all these years. He has saved our lifes in many ways that we will never have money to pay him for his services and patience with me, my two daughters and son-in-law. We are very satisfied with the great service we have received from Dr. Jeff Hischke, his team and the rest of the team at Family Medicine Association. Thank you! More

5.0
Review from RM  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Sep 07, 2017

Great job. It's why we have been coming here for 16 years! More

5.0
Review from KS  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jul 13, 2017

Bryson was awesome. Very friendly and knowledgeable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 14, 2017

We have been lucky to have known Dr Hischke and use him as our primary care physician for 12 years, now. Both my wife and I are data driven professionals with post graduate degrees and we have been consistently impressed with Dr Hischke's logical approach and individual attention to us as patients. His attention is undivided and recommendations well thought out and tailored to our individual needs. We have been extremely happy with him on both professional and personal level. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 12, 2017

I have been a patient there many years.  I like the fact that they have their own X-ray and lab areas. Keeps you from running all over the place.  Dr Jeff Hischke is the best.  Has treated and fixed plenty of my ailments. Only been to a couple of the other Docs on staff there but have never had an issue. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 13, 2016

I have been a patient of Dr Hischke's for many years. He ALWAYS really listens to me. I am immensely grateful for his compassionate honesty. He has a way of patiently sifting through all of my 'detailed' stories, symptoms and many times my frustrations, to elicit a counsel and/or a diagnosis. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 17, 2016

Dr. Hischke has been my primary care physician as well as my son's doctor for 8 years. He has a wealth of knowledge and goes above and beyond to care for his patients. He is always available and takes time with his patients. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 17, 2016

I have been going to Dr Hischke for about 10 years. He has a warm but professional manner. He is easy to speak with about my health issues. I trust him to be my primary physician as I grow older. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: UCompareHealthcare  |  Dec 15, 2015

I have been a patient of Dr. Hischke for more than 10 years, and I would recommend him to anyone. He has always been a provider of excellent care to me, and my family! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: UCompareHealthcare  |  Dec 05, 2014

Great Dr to work with. Very personable and professional. I have seen Dr Hischke for years. I hope to continue for many more years More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Nov 07, 2013

Awesome physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Aug 22, 2013

It was nice. I liked the office and atmosphere More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jan 11, 2012

Dr. Hischke was very courteous and the wait time was minimal both in the waiting room and after the nurse took my vital signs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Jan 11, 2012

Dr. Hischke was very courteous and the wait time was minimal both in the waiting room and after the nurse took my vital signs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.P.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Dec 02, 2011

Excellent visit. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 02, 2009

Wonderful doctor - Listens to what you ask, always does the best for the patient. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Sep 23, 2020

It was nice. I liked the office and atmosphere More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Sep 23, 2020

Excellent visit. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Sep 23, 2020

Dr. Hischke was very courteous and the wait time was minimal both in the waiting room and after the nurse took my vital signs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Sep 23, 2020

Awesome physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from <.H.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Sep 23, 2020

Excellent visit. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from <.H.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Sep 23, 2020

Awesome physician. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from <.H.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Sep 23, 2020

It was nice. I liked the office and atmosphere More

5.0
DAPI
Review from <.H.  |  Source: ZocDoc  |  Sep 23, 2020

Dr. Hischke was very courteous and the wait time was minimal both in the waiting room and after the nurse took my vital signs. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.